n 1906 the business of Barclay, Ross and Tough, engineers, Aberdeen, (later Barclay, Ross and Hutchison) was conducted from its premises at Balmoral Buildings, 67-71 Green. That address was to be well-known in following decades. In 1901 it also had a shop and office premises at Carmelite Buildings at Aberdeen and stores at Russell Road, Aberdeen.
From early 1907 it started to advertise its waterproof rick covers, engine covers, lorry covers and spring cart covers from the Craigshaw Cover Works, Aberdeen. The use of these premises was to enable the business to develop significantly. As it noted in an advert in the Aberdeen press and journal of 19 March 1907:
“In consequence of the expansion of the engineering and millwright department of our business, as we have acquired extensive premises at Craigshaw, Nigg, where we have fitted up the most improved up-to-date machines and tools for the manufacture and repair of all kinds of agricultural implements. We are making specialities of threshing machines, manure distributors, cultivators etc. With the best skilled labour, the most highly equipped factory, run on the best and most economical lines, we are now in a position to offer our numerous clients and the public the best value in all kinds of Agricultural Implements. Our long experience and thorough knowledge of the Farmer’s requirements we place at the disposal of our clients at all times.
Advice and estimates given free on request. Barclay, Ross and Tough, Implement Makers, Aberdeen.”